Food Bank of Iowa, as a member of the Disaster-Ready Midwest Region, received Feeding America’s 2023 “Living Our Values” award for outstanding commitment to the network at its annual conference April 20. Food Bank of Iowa shares this award with 23 food banks for selfless efforts which exemplify Feeding America’s values of leadership, learning and excellence.

The disaster-ready cohort enables participating food banks to better respond to the needs of disaster survivors. The multi-state effort demonstrates the importance of preparedness and collaboration.

The full list of organizations honored with the “Living Our Values” award includes:
Arkansas Food Bank
Food Bank of Northeast Arkansas
Northwest Arkansas Food Bank
Harvest Regional Food Bank
River Valley Regional Food Bank
*Food Bank of Iowa
*HACAP Food Reservoir
*Northeast Iowa Food Bank
*River Bend Food Bank
Food Bank of Eastern Oklahoma
Regional Food Bank of Oklahoma
*Food Bank for the Heartland
Food Bank of Lincoln
Kansas Food Bank
The Food Bank for Central and Norwest Missouri
Harvesters – The Community Food Network
Ozarks Food Harvest
Second Harvest Community Food Bank
Southeast Missouri Food Bank
St. Louis Area Food Bank
Arkansas Hunger Relief Alliance
Feeding Missouri
*Iowa Food Bank Association

(*denotes Iowa organizations)

FBOI Vice President of Operations Tami Nielsen represents Food Bank of Iowa in the Disaster-Ready Midwest Region cohort.